I want to write about the best mind ever known to Homo Sapiens


“Put your hand on a hot stove for a minute, and it seems like an hour. Sit with a pretty girl for an hour, and it seems like a minute. THAT’S relativity.”

I guess he was there in my mind even before I was born. In School, he was not only ‘My superhero’ but for every science student, he was the most common excuse to be dumb and still super smart. These things were then and there, and now when I wanted to write about him on this space, I rather see him ‘the coolest nerd’. You see his quotes and the way he used to live his life, it’s totally amazing and inspiring. His quotes are the real reflection of his wit and quirkiness. He used to say, “The important thing is to not stop questioning”. He never let that craving for curiosity go away from his life. Everybody knows about his contribution in physics and the every-day life we are leading right now.  Albert Einstein showed speech impairments until the age of nine. Imagine the person who shook the world with his wit and brains, once found it difficult to express his ideas, and had problems with spelling. The school wanted him to join some school of special kids as they have declared him to be border-line retarded.  He never has interest in the subjects except Math and Physics and his teacher used to call him ‘a lazy dog’. There is a misconception that he was once failed in a Math exam which I don’t believe to be true. As according to what I have read in his biography that during one entrance exam for a polytechnic course, he flunked in all the subjects except math and physics. He knew what he liked and what he loved to do the most. He was funny and full of witty humor in everything he used to do. If believes the sources, when Einstein wanted to divorce his first wife, Mileva Maric, he told her he would win the Nobel Prize one day and give her his future earnings if she’d give him a divorce. Maric accepted, but had to wait three years for the prize money.

In his last years of life, Albert Einstein knew he was ill and going to die, still he refused all treatments that would save his life. He wanted to be cremated so people won’t come to worship at his bones. He was such a genius that world was after his brain and the fact that made his brain so sharp once he died.  His brain was removed within seven and a half hours of his death. Things got especially crazy for Thomas Harvey, who performed the autopsy on Einstein in Princeton Hospital. During the procedure, he removed the brain to examine it, which is routine. But instead of placing the brain back in the skull, Harvey put it in a jar of formaldehyde to preserve it. According to Michael Paterniti’s travelogue ‘Driving Mr. Albert’ Harvey made a grand cross-country trip from Princeton to California donating the brain finally to Princeton Hospital. The brain had come full circle, once again ending up where it had begun its fateful journey.

Albert Einstein was so sharp and active that even after his death his brain didn’t stop moving and we still have to scratch our heads when comes to its uniqueness. Some of the coolest quotes I like from Einstein’s’ brain are

  • “I never think of the future. It comes soon enough.”
  • “If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research, would it?”
  • “The only thing that interferes with my learning is my education.”
  • The secret of creativity is knowing how to hide your sources.”
  • “Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking”
  •  “Put your hand on a hot stove for a minute, and it seems like an hour. Sit with a pretty girl for an hour, and it seems like a minute. THAT’S relativity.”
  • “Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I’m not sure about the the universe.”
  • “You have to learn the rules of the game. And then you have to play better than anyone else.”
  •  “I don’t know, I don’t care, and it doesn’t make any difference!”
  •  “I am a deeply religious nonbeliever – This is a somewhat new kind of religion”
  • “Gravitation is not responsible for people falling in love.”
  • “The hardest thing in the world to understand is the income tax.”
  • “To us believing physicists the distinction between past, present, and future has only the significance of a stubborn illusion.”

 The best one I like the most was

“If A is a success in life, then A equals x plus y plus z. Work is x; y is play; and z is keeping your mouth shut.”

6 thoughts on “I want to write about the best mind ever known to Homo Sapiens

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed this post. Einstein is one of my super heroes too. Among my favorite Einstein quotes are:
    “Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I’m not sure about the the universe.”
    “I never think of the future. It comes soon enough.”
    “I don’t know, I don’t care, and it doesn’t make any difference!”

    I totally agree with you that he was the coolest nerd!
    I think I am developing a flare for your writing. 🙂

  2. Hey Lopa, thank you so much for such kind words. I don’t know if my writing deserves that or not… I just love writing about the things which excites me; no matter in a good or bad way!!! thank you gal!!!! I am not sure if we can be like super smart like Einstein; but we sure are careless and super cool nerds…lol…love 🙂

  3. Well said! In between, I just need to ask you a query. 😀 😛
    Why the great Einsten becomes a SUPER HERO for you from childhood onwards? Is that all because of his bravery in all aspects or various relevant proposals in science to our world?

  4. heyrahulashok (i hope i can seem as cool as you are with iamrahulashok… lol), thank you for stopping by. I would really take the honor to answer your question and the answer is yes, Einstein was my superhero since my kid-hood but the reason was not typical (just like me)!! the reason was his coolness as a nerd which i loved about him….hope you liked my piece on him…

  5. I am so happy to see young people, like yourself, respect and admire such important people. My daughter has a print above her bed, that a friend gave her, with another quote; “Imagination will take you everywhere”.
    Excellent post and great blog.
    Jackie

  6. thank you for all these wonderful likes Jakie… I believe personality like Einstein give us a craving to think beyond obviousness and that’s what create new and beautiful things…. thank you for following my blog!!

Leave a Reply

