I Love you like a Frog!!!


I have no shame in saying that I was a frog since I was born and I would like to die being a frog only. Before you jump over to conclusions I would like to clear that yes, I am talking about rains and I am always happy and jumping like a frog whenever they are at my door. Rains means renaissance for me. I belong to the northern most part of India, spent almost first two decades of my life in mountains where rains mean heaven. The very thought of those big black clouds over the green mountains let me drown in a big ocean of nostalgia. I used to leave every important thing at home including the last day studies before my exam to just have a look of that heavenly sight. The pure rains, the mesmerizing fragrance of wet clay, the music of rain drops on our slanting roof, everything seems like my last birth.

And now when the first monsoon hit Nova Delhi, and I am sitting in a 4/4 cabin of my office in this huge building of this goddamn gigantic city, I can’t even feel it’s’ raining until I go out and let my hair and body drench with these little drops of showers. Oh I miss my home like heaven (can’t say hell here). I know this is a clumsy, crowdy and an emotionless city where the only quality time you spend is the sleeping time; but still when my olfactory nerves gets a treat with the fragrance of wet clay, It’s heaven (Bryan Admas’s style) here.

I was feeling bad because I could not complete this post on Friday which was officially the first day of monsoons but my melancholy got washed away this morning when it rained on my way to office. Wow! I love this city for the first time; people were going crazy in these morning busy hours. Motorcyclists were enjoying the beautiful bath with this cool breeze, couples on the bikes were even happier than me (come’on more than a Frog!!! Huh!!), and the kids, OMG they were getting their school dress deep drenched and I have no idea what they are going to do or on the other hand, what their teachers are going to do with them? I wanted to get inundated in rain like those kids on the street and didn’t want to come to this 4/4 cabin.

But then the very thought of money, career, job, and n number of complexities comes with unemployment kept me coming to the office and my romantic heart broke when I saw little rain drops falling from the window pane. I shut down the air conditioner of my room and let the cool breeze come from the opened window. It seems the wet birds on my window pane are teasing me of being a human being and surrounded by so many things other than happiness. Isn’t it true? We keep on ruining our moments for the years we spent and for the days yet to come. Life is simple but we have to make it intricate. I don’t know if it’s only my penchant but I tend to run away from complexity. Even if people call me a weakling, they say I deserve more than I have but I think if I am content with what I have, It automatically becomes more than suffice. See rains make me sentimental and keep on diverting my shrewd mind. I know life is full of unfair things, mean people, crazy relationships but nature and its bliss keep showering its surprises on all of us saying,’ Life is beautiful and it will remain beautiful if you keep enjoying it like frogs.’ So who cares of practical stuff in life as long as frogs like me exist in this world and continue to dance like a frog whenever rains come!!!

35 thoughts on “I Love you like a Frog!!!

    • hey Marina!!! i am glad to have one more frog friend like you!!! I hope you don’t mind being called frog…….

    • indeed Lopa!!! I used to think that rains are only beautiful in mountains but i guess rains are everywhere beautiful even in our cities like Nova Delhi and Bombay!!!!!

  1. Am part of the frog gang…love the rains whether am in the mountains, on the beaches, in a high rise or in the plains. My favorite past time as a child and I still indulge every once in a while…float my paper boats down the rivulets of water…hot tea with pakodas (fritters) with a mystery book to read or just curling up on my favorite sofa and watch the skies drench the earth!!!

  2. hey Uma, I should have contacted you before writing this post, you could have added so much to it….i forgot paper boats and pakoras in my post but your comment completed it..thank you so much!!!!

  3. There’s something about being out in the rain, especially when it’s pouring. I just make it a point to be out in the worst weather. Makes you feel a little more alive.
    Recently went out in a typhoon. Fantastic.
    @ Lopa I remember you hating the rains, making a sad face…

  4. Well said! I find that I am most at ease when out in nature or just in wonder of natural beauty. I also agree about people making their lives more difficult than they have to be. I may be one of those people and I think I spend a lot of time trying to simplify 🙂

  5. nIce post Pooja… Rains have a way of rejuvenating our mind and soul.. Its such a fresh feeling 🙂
    But unfortunately all employees are so tamed with all sorts of fears and insecurities about losing their jobs that they cant even enjoy simple pleasures for too long without feeling guilty.

  6. You flung me right back to my childhood with this fantastic piece! Back then (almost) everything was simple and enjoyable, like playing in the tropical rains. Count me in to your fan base, Pooja!

  7. When I was younger, my mum used to tell me that if I drank too much water (I’m hooked on it) I would grow frogs in my stomach. Reading your post I realised she was using a metaphore. She in fact meant that if I drank too much water I would get pregnant. I remain as befuddled as I was as I child 🙂
    PS. Yes, I do have a silly sense of humour (in case you wonder).

    • Indeed you have a strong humor bone !!! I am glad we actually don’t get pregnant by drinking so much of water…the actual reason is even funnier…lol…anyway thanks for stopping by and leaving your beautiful footprints on my blog?!!!!

  8. Hey I am a frog too, so are my kids! We love the rain and go out in it when we can. When there is a thunderstorm we turn out all the light and open all the blinds, then sit and be amazed.

  9. I love water too! In fact, a couple of my toes are sort of webbed. I also love the wind…I’m like a dog sticking its head out the car window. I love all of the elements–except snow. I’m a Canadian. Not a big fan of snow. Novelty wore off years ago.
    Awesome post!!

  10. Relate to this so much… I hail from Assam… and I love incessant rainfall. Rightly said “It seems the wet birds on my window pane are teasing me of being a human being and surrounded by so many things other than happiness.”

    “…Life is simple but we have to make it intricate. I don’t know if it’s only my penchant but I tend to run away from complexity. Even if people call me a weakling, they say I deserve more than I have but I think if I am content with what I have, It automatically becomes more than suffice.” I feel the same dear… This isn’t a weak person’s thinking. A person has to be strong enough to not get carried away to chase ambitions and miss out on little things and happiness in life…

    Check this out… i typed this while sitting at office (at Bangalore) in the rare event of Bangalore rain… 😀 !!! nishajyoti.wordpress.com/2012/08/29/a-rain-dance/

Leave a Reply

