‘Love left us’ – Part 1 – the very first meeting


Lying on the bed, she was staring at the roof and it was incessantly the fourth hour. With the wings of that dirty fan, all the good-bad memories of last three years were spinning around her eyes. Three years ago, December 2009, when she was on the way to meet him the very first time. In the shivering winters of New Delhi, wearing a red-green suit, wrapped in a black shawl, she took an auto early morning. A heart pounding at its peak, full of fears, excitement, insecurities showed her the way to her destiny. It was her first month in this gigantic city and her first time to Delhi airport or to any airport for that matter.

She could not sleep the whole night after the moment he said on phone, ‘See you tomorrow morning sharp at eight.’ “Are you serious? You can’t be. You had no plans until yesterday and you are in Bangalore”, she said in a shocking-cum-scared voice. “Yes, I am but you only say that I am superman, so?” ‘I don’t know but every time the confidence in his voice makes me believe everything he says,’ she thought and saw her face in the front mirror adjusting that hair flick behind her ear. After 8 years she is finally meeting him, he, who was her superman, her first crush, her first love, the man of her dreams. How he would look like? He will be taller than before for sure and those big black mischievous eyes, will they be same? Those fine black strands of his hair, always falling on his forehead and how he used to comb them with his fingers every ten minutes, she thought about all the childhood memories and smiles at herself. The fear transformed into nostalgia, smiles, love but it again hit her back as auto driver said, ‘Madam domestic arrival aa gya.’ Confused & scared she got down, looking at everyone as if he is the one.

After a ten minute gait around the arrival terminal, she thought finally she should call him. As soon as she took her mobile from the purse, she sensed a 6 feet tall figure in front of her. Still looking down at the mobile, she knew it was him, but she couldn’t gather herself to see him up. ‘Hello madam curie, How are you?’ he said the same way he used to tease her back in school. ‘Ok, I cannot avoid this situation any more. She thought and looked up and there he was, more handsome and confident than she had thought. She was all blushing and he was all smiling. She found herself completely lost, could not say a single word. ‘Madam, there is no chutti from the unit. I have literally absconded for the day and have to leave by 2 pm flight so can we sit somewhere and talk, plus I am hungry to death?’ he said all that so confidently as if we meet every day for the breakfast.

She followed him to ‘the Costa Coffee Café & Bar’ like an idiot. ‘So what will you have for breakfast? Pranthas? Sandwich? Or nothing, actually you should avoid eating much and did I mention u look fat? He said all that in a single breath and smiled. Shockingly she murmured, ‘See I hate this when he controls me so easily right from the school.’ Anything you like, she said and headed towards the corner table for two. As soon as she sat on the chair, her train of thoughts started adding compartments as always. ‘He has come all the way from Bangalore to meet me or to have breakfast. He hasn’t proposed me yet. Its’ only two months since we are talking and today I am meeting him, why?’ before she could reach to any conclusion, he came. ‘Same fearless walk like a tiger, smiling to me or smiling at me; I don’t know but who wants to know when he is actually there’, she thought. They didn’t say anything to each other. Again he was all smiling and she was all blushing. They had breakfast in silence and then as usual he took charge, ‘Come, I show you a place.’

They went up to the runway. He showed some document to the security there and then beckoned her to join him. ‘Where we are going?’ she asked. Lets’ go to the airstrip and we will watch some planes taking off. I like the sound when they take off’, he said that not looking at her but on the pavement they were taking to the runway. ‘You live with them. You must have been seen a hundreds of them taking off, landing on the ground. You fly them every day still you want to watch them taking off,’ she said that with a disappointment of getting her first date ruined by watching some planes flying. Suddenly he turned to her, ‘May be, I live with the aircrafts but I still can live with them whole my life because I love them. Flying is something I love to do, my passion. Whatever happens in life, the charm for what you love, should never be lost.

Seeing her still disappointed he came close, held her face in his hands and said, ‘Madam, this is our first meeting, we are excited that we met. We will meet again and again. After sometime, we will stay together, get married and have kids but I want to love you and feel excited and happy every time and every day I will see you, the same way ‘I Am’ right now. We should be always fresh in each other’s heart & mind, every day, every moment and our love should be as fresh as it was in school days when you used to be my crush. This charm should never be lost.’

Looking in those big black eyes, she lost her self and found all the answers of her life. She needs no flowers, no proposals, no promises, and no commitment. She doesn’t need anything. She knew that whatever happens, this man is going to support her, to be with her at any cost. He will never let the charm lost.

Her dreams broke with the knock at her door. Her neighbor was calling her to show some of her stupid new bought dresses. ‘Yes, the charm should not have been lost but unfortunately it did get lost’,she thought getting up from the bed.

13 thoughts on “‘Love left us’ – Part 1 – the very first meeting

  1. I don’t know if you writing a book but believe me you have all the caliber of writing a book. this seems like a first chapter of a romantic novel in my hands, i loved it and i don’t stop here because now I am craving for the next part of the story. two childhood lovers where the man is so stronger, why hey decide to be apart. why they left love… I made my word press profile recently and don’t know what to write but now at least I know what to read…your blog is awesome specially this story… I am waiting for more…

    • thank you Aaditya, I will for sure try to meet your expectations in the upcoming part…and I am writing no book…this is just a story came across to me and i couldn’t resist myself penning it down…the next part is coming soon!!!

    • nothing in this world is fiction my dear…Either things has already been happened and an inspiration for people like us to pen them down or if we write them first they are for sure going to be an inspiration for some love story out there…. 2nd part coming soon!!!

  2. life became so complicated…we too used to think in so detail bout many things. but ab zindagi jeene ke mayne badal gaye ya phir samay ne humko badal diya. I dunno where i can feel the things or notice in so detail again…

    Nice writing….selection of words..pictures with emotions.

Leave a Reply

